My Beloved Husband Knows These Things

I love thee so, my sweetest, doth I close
Up my romantic soul, and lock away
Its delicate embrace of thee I chose.
And for your sake, my children, shall I hide

Away its key; that none should see its truth
While every day I brave this worldly sway.
And yet, for me, the romance of my youth
Is sore alive, in all that I provide.

As, for thy comfort, every tree I fell;
Until–my wish at last–shall come the day
When all are safe, and everything is well.
My calloused hands, mine axe, shall lay aside;

This key, my soul’s romantic door, display
To thee, and to our children, love and pride.

David Emeron 22 Novembre 2012

This piece was inspired by some words of the poet Lady Day.

Lady Day is a prolific and inspiring writer pouring out the feelings of a life fully lived with passion and joy.  Personally, I visit her site with a little bit of trepidation because I know I will leave with my feelings touched and hence, my usual observers distance challenged.  There will be tears or laughter – but there will not be a quick click on to the next blog for me.  I will have to sit and think of the feelings echoing forth from  her work or from the scenes from her daily life with her five children.  I think that is what catches me the most; I love the juxtaposition of steamy romance and passion with children and their delightful antics.  It is so familiar and there is such a rightness to it all.  Here are some of the little clips of her daily life that are posted in the side line.  I think these are a “twitter feed”.   Listen in with me and you’ll see what I mean…

Lady Day

  • “I just can’t eat anymore! Maybe I just need more liquid.” My 4yr old. She has a very good vocabulary for her age. Weird. 2 hours ago
  • Sharing a pot of lemon tea with honey,with my girls…we seem to have the sore throat blues. 2 hours ago

These snippets of life with her little girls take me back to life when my own daughter was small.  I loved every pot of tea…even with the sore throats.  Every vocabulary weirdness…it is all so familiar.  Lady Day takes me back to the passion, the love, the pure sensuality of being a musician and living life with a young family.  She is so beautiful to me that she must be taken in careful short  sips lest the memories overcome me and I go through my day in a haze.  My dear husband’s writings taken together with Lady Day’s in one brief day could be too much for any mortal woman!  Visit her site with your heart open and prepare to explore poetry with her.  It’s all about the experience of the poetry with her, I do believe.  She seems to love words, love form, love passion, love art, love children, love romance.

-<<@>>-<<@>>-<<@>>-<<@>>-
Now that I have read what I’ve written above I can see that I need to make an explanatory addition.  Lady Day is a poetess.  Her site is filled with poetry about romance, passion, and life.  Children are incidental to her site, they are simply the imps who peek out of the corners and I seek them out because they add to my enjoyment of the whole experience.  It is a personal proclivity of mine – the search for the imps who hide in the corners – but for those who don’t search for them they will find Lady Day’s site full of poetry that is not child centered.

Boy, I see a lot of lucasing in the future for this  post.  ;-}

About ThePlagueFairy

Wife and mother, Retired musician, etc, etc.... My favorite word is "Gemütlichkeit". -->-->-- "The word "Gemütlichkeit" is an old word that has lost much of its meaning over the years. If you ask a very old German about its meaning it is to them a most beloved word. It once meant fellowship, hospitality, warmth, welcoming, and a feeling that no-one is a stranger. Today it means cozy comfort.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to My Beloved Husband Knows These Things

  1. ~Lady Day says:

    I’m really nearly in tears..truthfully.
    I’m somewhat speechless…honoured…and yes…the side bar is my twitter feed. My five kids, four girls and a boy…are my everyday. The poetry, is my creative outlet that makes the rough parts of the everyday flow better…it calms me, balances me…and really, I have found some very delightful fellow artists to read and enjoy. It’s my santuary from laundry and dishes and dust and screaming kids. Honestly, still, everytime I write, I am shocked people enjoy it so much. I am by far, the most boring and ordinary housewife you would ever meet…truly. I sit and read and write and paint and referee kids.
    That’s my life. That anyone can find what goes on in my head, or these snippets of very ordinary life interesting is odd, yet wonderful all at the same time. Thank you for that, and your kind words.
    Hugs to you and yours. X

  2. ~Lady Day says:

    Reblogged this on Lyrical Love and commented:
    The thoughts of David’s love…just so sweetly kind. I am glad that my imagination combined with silly parts of my very ordinary days, brings them happiness and memories…it is yet again, the kindest honour.

  3. machinist says:

    The scientist shows us the exotic, but isn’t it the artist’s gift to show us the every day through a new or exotic point of view?
    That seems the more valuable in many ways. What better present than to see the wonder of our own lives and world through new eyes? As one with no talent or artistic imagination this is especially precious to me.

    • My dear Gentle Mac, it is so good to see you here. As always, you have hit the nail on the head. It is the gift of the artist to show us the every day through new eyes and Lady Day is particularly gifted in that.
      As always, you modestly claim to have no talent, but you have a wonderful gift with words, my friend. You have a real gift for reducing things to their essential concepts and then explaining the intent of the concept. I would say that ability to explain things is quite a talent.
      And speaking of gifts and talents…
      …at the moment, David is longing for you to get your shop set up so he can come learn manual machining from you. I would come this very day to study opera or shooting with you. Talented is one thing you can’t claim not to be. I see how you don’t think your gifts are artistic, but as an artist I have to gently disagree with you, Sir.

      • machinist says:

        As always you are too kind, Gentle Lady. I would love to spend time in a shop with David, what fun it would be! I am sure he would quickly pick up machining. Manual machining is largely understanding the way the machines and tools cut and overcoming the inherent weaknesses of the tools to get the desired results from the machines. The other important part is effective measurement. Often, the limits to which you can work are the limits to which you can accurately measure. This involves again understanding the weak points of the measuring tools and developing a consistent and effective feel that will allow accurate setting of the tool and give consistent results. David’s brilliant mind and engineering knowledge would make all of this easy for him. His creative and artistic talent would let him leapfrog ahead of most. I am sure I would quickly find myself learning more from him than I could share with him. It would be a lot of fun in the process.

        I think you would love watching him take a piece of material and use machine tools to transform it into something he pictures in his mind’s eye, as you help him create now in other fields and means. I loved this aspect, it was my substitute for artistic creativity or expression, though I worked to drawings and plans to provide my guidance. You know quite well the difference between being able to read and play music and being able to create it or bring it to life. This is the difference between the craftsman and the artist. A good writer or a poet.

        • And I know the difference between one who knows how to read a plan alone, and one who knows how to read and then shape the metal into a work of art. I have also seen the robotic machine you made. Sadly, I don’t remember the name for it but it was an act of creation wasn’t it, Sir, or did I misunderstand it? Not to denigrate the work of the fine craftsman, but if the craftsman has the eye of the artist – he is an artist, I think. And there is still the issue of your ability with words, Gentle Mac. Shall we revisit that? heh

          (Oh, I have missed you!)

          [edited for clarity]
          [[No! I don’t ddrink!]]

          • Also, you must admit, David showed his artistic streak when he made my harps. He used plans on the first one but he improved on it both mathematically and artistically. Form follows function as someone once said.

            And speaking of instruments…he has a keyboard instrument he wants to invent with your help. He needs a machinist who is an artist, Sir. And he wants a machinist who shares his esthetics and can work out problems. He’s been talking about it since just after you visited us but was too shy to broach the subject – and he knew you didn’t have your shop set up after you moved. Maybe you two should talk sometime.

            • machinist says:

              Working with David on a project would be fun. I used to do that with engineers from Sandisk and ISS. Sometimes they had a good idea what they wanted made but often they only had a vague idea of what they wanted or none at all, just a need they needed addressed. It was fun and rewarding to work with them and they were usually grateful for help and ideas. It produced a lot of loyalty and good will. We had excellent relations.

              I really was not that good a machinist. I had no proper training and lacked experience. I did some good work but I knew much better machinists and while I once dreamed of being a tool maker I gave up such thoughts when I saw what some good tool makers took on and managed to do. I enjoyed precision machining but tool and die makers are the brain or heart transplant surgeons of the machining field and are capable of extraordinary things, jobs I would have thought impossible. Machinists are the MDs, and operators are the nurses and technicians.

            • Ok, I surrender (for the moment). I bow down to your superior knowledge of the machining arts, my gentle friend, but I’ve still got lots of ammo held back for the friendly “talent” discussion that we have been having for these last several years.

              You’re also a much better shot than I am, and are better with words; but that is a discussion for another day.

              If my eldest boy the Marine was an artist as a sniper, could that make you…

              naw, too easy. You’ll just cite the arthritis in your hands and your failing eyesight. Only a few years older than I and yet you’d shamelessly pull the “Old Man” trick.

            • David Emeron says:

              Mac I remember briefly broaching the broaching of this in an email a few months ago. So now you may see the true evidence of my pathological shyness regarding certain subjects, at least.

              Desert Yote is fairly enthusiastic as regards writing the firmware. I will no doubt write most of the software–with his guidance–as I have been anxious to do a project of this kind in C# incorporating embedded Ruby (an object oriented functional scripting language) for filters and user interface elements (so that it can be modular and customisable by anyone who learns ruby and a simple API) Although Yote has built some equipment, something like this–this precision level, is not something he is able to do, nor does he have the tools to do it.

              There is also a matter of the software necessary to control the machine, and we have envisioned this instrument as a black box without any displays or buttons or controls apart from what is necessary to the instrument itself. The reason for this is that it means that the control interface can be tweaked and modified as is necessary, if all of it runs on a laptop or desktop computer. And of course Yote is an instrument control engineer, among his many other talents and abilities. [I’ll bet you’ve figured out who Yotie is by now. Shhhh, it’s his seekrit name. -Plaguie]

              I will probably write most of the Secondary non control related software (involving the actual musical end of things) as well as most of the displays and filters and other heuristic elements, as Yote is not a musician and some of what is needed would be difficult to conceptualize to someone who is not a musician, although he might be able to help me out with heuristics in specific instances.

              The issue of my reticence was simply this: That I didn’t want you to feel obligated or pressured because of your friendship with our dear Mrs. Emeron. As the two of you are as close as you are, I felt it might be an unfair subject to broach. Still I did have many daydreams about this instrument being properly machined by a real master such as yourself. (I won’t go into too much detail here, because there is some commercial value to this–although how much I have no way of knowing. (In these daydreams I even imagined myself doing concert tours in small venues as did Emmett Chapman when early on he was promoting his “stick enterprises.” This is a truly unique thing I have in mind, and has been long in the conceptual making at least!)

              I’m sorry to say I had no mockup or kludge built at the time of your last visit, however shortly thereafter, I managed to work something up using my Yamaha CLP 880 as a sort of substitute for the “business end” of the affair.

              The whole thing taken together, using rather dodgy software, does work perfectly though and I delight my sweetheart regularly with performances here–and have of late taken to playing Scarlatti Sonatas. (of which there are 555 so there is practically no end to the fun)

              Still, I admit I dream of a properly built tailor made prototypical solution that could perhaps be commoditised and for which a streamlined fabrication/manufacturing path might be devised.

              I don’t deceive myself that such a project could replace Yote’s–nor, in fact any of our–incomes, as it would be difficult to determine its marketability–although I can perhaps see how it might be marketed–even to the general public.
              When and if you hear more about the thing, you will understand.

              So there you have it, Mac. The whole story. More or less. Hope you and the Mrs. are well. I hear your health/exercise project is going swimmingly (as, you may well have heard, is mine.)

            • Gentle Mac, I finally got him started and he took off!

              Feel free to take this discussion to email where it will be more comfortable to discuss interest and specifics. We can even run the discussion three ways as we do with Stashiu if you wish.

  4. AnElephantCant deny this
    Lady Day reaches deep into his heart
    But when he read your verse
    He found that your words
    Were a gloriously touching tribute to her art

  5. Thank you for your kind words most finely wrought, anelephantcant.
    Your verse is an unlooked for gift, and all the more delightful for that. I am pleased that my words relayed my admiration for Lady Day’s art.
    I hope you will stop by again.

  6. Really enjoyed reading the sonnet.
    You have captured Lady Day’s persona well.
    I am a great follower of hers and you do have to stop, read, think, and enjoy.
    Scott

  7. machinist says:

    David, I don’t know why you should be the least bit shy with me. You must not realize in what high esteem and respect I hold you. I would love and would be honored to help with the project but unfortunately I have no machines. When we moved here and bought this house we ordered a three car garage just to accommodate some machine tools but my machine fund got used to help a friend and with the crash I don’t expect to see it back or be able to replace it. I am probably less capable of fabrication now than you are. The garage space is given over to a work bench, reloading bench area and storage. We also have the treadmill and support equipment there too (a DVD player and TV to encourage both of us to stay with it).

    Your idea of staying with software controls sounds brilliant. You get complete flexibility. If you wish to go to e-mail as the Gentle Lady suggests that would be fine.

    Congratulations on your success with the physical program. I know how hard but how rewarding that can be.

...thus do we refute entropy.

