Today Is The Feast Day of Saints Crispin and Crispinian

This clip is my “go to” bit of uplift when I need some steel in my backbone.   It’s impossible for me to watch it through without having tears in my eyes and a renewed feeling of strength.

I hope you enjoy it, too.

Happy Saint Crispin’s Day

About ThePlagueFairy

Wife and mother, Retired musician, etc, etc.... My favorite word is "Gemütlichkeit". -->-->-- "The word "Gemütlichkeit" is an old word that has lost much of its meaning over the years. If you ask a very old German about its meaning it is to them a most beloved word. It once meant fellowship, hospitality, warmth, welcoming, and a feeling that no-one is a stranger. Today it means cozy comfort.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Today Is The Feast Day of Saints Crispin and Crispinian

  1. machinist says:

    I prefer Sir Laurence Olivier’s version but it is such a powerful piece that it rings in the hands of any good actor. Thank you for sharing your favorite. I have this film but need to copy out this part as I did with the other film (or steal this).

    • Ah, Gentle Mac, I knew some Shakespeare would bring you out of the woodwork. Do I remember correctly that you always provided all of your machine shops with a Complete Shakespeare in the break room should anyone wish to read it?

      I rummaged around here as I was certain I had your L. Olivier version that you sent to my machine but I can’t find it. I was going to post it. If you can direct me to the correct YouTube clip I would be grateful, Sir.

      I have sure missed playing on our old website, Gentle Mac.

  2. Brenda says:

    I forgot how awesome that speech is. Kenneth Branagh is fabulous!!

  3. David Emeron says:

    He is the patron saint of crisps, is he not? (or as we say on this side of the pond: “potato chips”)
    Very much, I should think, that Bob Anglican might be considered the patron saint of divorce??

  4. Heh! I just got your joke, dearest.

  5. Gentle Mac! I’m sorry I didn’t see your comment, I have the flu and am doing just the minimum so I missed you. I hope you and your sweet wife are happy and well.

  6. No hurry, I’ll rest…really, kind Sir.

    • machinist says:

      We are well, thank you. Elena’s grand niece turned one year old on Feb 10 so that was a big deal in the family. Elena seems fully recovered from her knee replacement. I am taking a break from medical procedures for a while. I think things are stable enough to be safe. Elena is probably most concerned that I get my right eye operated on but I can just not face that now.I might look at getting the stints in the heart first but not for a while. I do have insurance now so that is not such an issue.

      Things are peaceful. I do miss you, as do the few that still frequent the Wheel. You do get mentioned regularly and are still much loved and respected. Elena and I talk of you and David often.

      Please take care.

  7. I do long for the wheel. I spent several days over this latest illness reading through all the emails from those days. I kept them all in a file.

    I’m so very happy to hear that all is peaceful for you. That is a precious state to be in and I treasure it with you. I am glad to know that Elena has fully recovered. I have prayed she would as well as for your health. I will be happy and relieved when you are ready to have your other procedures done and hope you will let me know when you go in for them, if that’s not too intrusive. I’d like to be able support Elena at those times as well as you, B.B.

  8. Please give my love and respect to the wheelies!

...thus do we refute entropy.

