The Monsoons Are Here Again…

summer monsoons

…with thunder rumbling,crashing and cracking while lightening whips across the desert skies! It’s been a lifetime since I’ve been here to see and feel this. And oh, the wind! The cottonwood trees and weeping-willows flail madly and add their voices to the prelude. For now, it’s a big cacophony mixed with the Chopin Nocturnes. I can only hear the piano when the thunder pauses. Soon the rains will come.

My dearest love spent so long alone with the monsoons when he wrote his love poems and sonnets about the rain. Here are some of them I’d like to share.

About ThePlagueFairy

Wife and mother, Retired musician, etc, etc.... My favorite word is "Gemütlichkeit". -->-->-- "The word "Gemütlichkeit" is an old word that has lost much of its meaning over the years. If you ask a very old German about its meaning it is to them a most beloved word. It once meant fellowship, hospitality, warmth, welcoming, and a feeling that no-one is a stranger. Today it means cozy comfort.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Monsoons Are Here Again…

  1. kanzensakura says:

    Lovely to see a post from you dear Mrs. E. I hope you are well. It truly is a joy to see this.

    • Thank you, Kanzen. It’s good to see you, too! Thank you for your kind words. I am hoping the monsoons will bring my poet to write again. He’s been awfully busy.
      I wasn’t aware this had posted (yup, it was an accident — I do have a rotating “L” for “Lamer” on my forehead) I was going to put up some of his poetry here as the main part of the post! I must get cracking…
      But not tonight. Not tonight.

      • kanzensakura says:

        Whenever suits you. It will be happily received. I do hope you are well
        .

        • And I hope you are well, dear Kanzen! Whenever I can rest listening to the storms and know my beloved Mr. Emeron is nearby I am well, thank you. His piano here is a very nice one too. It doesn’t get much better than that! I am very happy.

          The only thing that could make me happier would be a visit here on the blog from my well loved Gentle Mac. I’ve not been writing emails lately and long to know how he and his dear wife are doing. I hope you don’t mind, Kanzen, that I use my answer to you to also put out a call to him. He is such a special friend and I’ve heard you’ve learned to appreciate him yourself since you’ve “met” him on your blog.

          And speaking of blogs, I’ve missed reading yours, Ma’am. It appears from the fact that I’m just babbling on here I will be able to begin to spend more time up reading again and I look forward to spending time at your place soon! That makes me happy! I hope Mr. E will make the noodles soon. He cooks when he’s cogitating so there have been lots of whole kitchen projects going on. I am well fed! I’ll bet all I have to do is mention a longing for the noodles…

          Aaaand, back around to the poetry. I believe I will be Tom-Sawyering my darling husband into putting the poetry up here for me because he’s so susceptible to my piteous cries of, “just talk me through it again, I’ve forgotten (which it true!), and the big one “how do I choose from all the pieces you’ve written about the rain? Do you want some input?” The last one always sucks him in.

          I wonder how your job situation has worked itself out. I wonder if Gentle Mac has read the story of the Naked Samurai of Wassname? Well…there goes my memory. That means it’s time to go rest again. I can’t believe I wrote all this! Thank you, Kanzen!

          Bless you.

          (((Zzzzzzzzzz-Poof)))

          • kanzensakura says:

            I haven’t heard from Gentle Mac in a bit. He rarely comments but it is always meaningful. I hope he is well.

            n order to make mischief, I have posted two recipes for homemade ice cream. I am a wicked woman. It is a hard job but someone has to do it.

            My job situation is. I am at peace with them retiring me and have moved on. I have gone back to school in my first love pharmacy. I have midterms and have been studying my little brain off. I am having to get out of engineer mode which is a habit of years and hard, but I finally seem to be doing that.

            I have posted a couple of haiku I am proud of and a post about Flag Day mixed in with the story of 47 Ronin – Blood and Honor. I am proud of it. And an indecently good peach cobbler – my father’s recipe. And some fun happy videos from my favorite Japanese group – World Order. So there is every thing to fit every kind of mood. I am going to post karage chicken next week. Japanese fried chicken with a cool cucumber salad – east meets south for sure.

            I don’t think you will have aproblem talking your Mr. E into posting for you. I have a feeling the only thing he would say no to would be if you asked him to stop loving you.. I think he would totally disobey.

            Get some good rest. Let the rain soothe you and the piano playing. My samurai used to play piano at night when I could not sleep. worked everytime.

  2. machinist says:

    It is so nice to see you posting, Gentle Lady. I sent a short e-mail recently but thought you might be too tired. I just looked in and saw your call in your answer to dear kanzensakura. Isn’t she very special? I hope you are well and I am glad to see you are still active. My respect and compliments to your dear David. Elena and I have been talking about you both often. You are such an important part of our lives now.

    I have been a bit withdrawn lately. I got my dental issues sorted out and now I need to look at cataract surgery, probably around the end of the year. I just got new glasses but they are not doing the job. I guess I will try again but he told me he does not expect he can correct my vision beyond six months. Not a big deal and I feel things are going well for us. We are both at peace with things.

    I will keep a closer watch here for your posts. I let this one go too long before seeing it. My best wishes with you.

  3. machinist says:

    I hope you and your handsome Prince have had a nice Thanksgiving and that you are comfortable. Been busy here as Elena fell on 17 September and dislocated her right shoulder. She had surgery in early Oct and is doing well and recovering on schedule but it has rather stirred things up, as you can imagine. Thinking fondly of you both.

    • My dear, dear, Gentle Mac! It looks like I’ve missed a couple of messages from you, Sir. It’s 11:30pm and I just awakened to find I slept through Thanksgiving. ::sigh:: Please don’t take that as a sign of anything terrible – I’m not in a lot of pain, I just sleep and sleep. I will be able to start my infusions here this week and assume I’ll have more energy in a few months. No worries!

      We are just fine here but we do miss our large household and sometimes don’t quite know what to do with ourselves. Only two to cook for seems…strange.

      As for you, my best of friends, it sounds like you and Little Mouse have had a challenging time of it. It must feel wonderful to have your teeth sorted out! I hope your eye situation is easily corrected. That must be very frustrating, not being able to see like that. It looks like things have all piled up on you and Elena…and I know how much you looove this time of year anyway. To hear that you are at peace with things makes my heart so happy, my friend.

      I’m sorry to hear about Elena’s fall!! Please give her my warmest regards and wishes for a painless and full recovery and keep on her to do every physical therapy exercise they’ll give her. Then tell her to do the ones you can teach her, too! The Plague Fairy so sayeth! The poor dear.

      Bless you both and bear into the future my sincere wishes for another year of friendship and love with your family.

      • machinist says:

        What a wonderful treat to hear from you, my gentle friend. The eye will have to wait as we will be paying off the medical bills for a few years (no insurance). I am not really concerned, I am just grateful we could do it and handle the financing. It was time critical abnd waiting would have meant it possibly not working at all. She tore the rotater cuff badly and had other damage as well. The surgeon and hospital all had great cash discounts and we could get it done. I really am at peace at how things have worked out. It could have been so much worse.

        I hope your present situation improves and you start to have more energy. It must be so frustrating for you to not be scurrying about. I hope the pain and discomfort is manageable, though you won’t admit much. I am assuming you will remain where you are through the coming holidays. I hope you can create a bit of a cozy holiday nest together and that you are back with “the family” before too long. I would bet they miss you terribly.

        Don’t tire yourself out, LS. I am so happy to have heard from you..

        • Dear Gentle Mac, We are moving here permanently. The opportunity to be in a nice little home on one floor and modern construction is appropriate for our needs now and in the future. Everything is so handy for me! I even have a couple of sisters within a few hours of our location and nephews which means… BABIES!! I’m going to love having babies around again. That’s like giving you kittehs, my friend. It looks like most of the household will be relocating to this area – some of them within the very near future.

          It is also a more congenial state for second amendment rights which means we have some saving up and purchasing to do. We’d divested ourselves of our personal stores knowing we had such overwhelming access where we lived before. Adventures to come!

          It just occurred to me that we are much closer for the next visit you and Elena make to us. We still haven’t got your big easy chair by the fireplace but we will. Hmmm, also, I just learned to Skype. Do you want to send me your Skype address by email so I can call you two that way? David just spent 4 hours chatting with an old friend on Skype and he’s very excited about it. Says it feels like he got to hang out with him. It must seem strange that we’d not embraced that technology before.

          Ok, I’m definitely rambling now. I just awakened but it seems my 11hr nap just wasn’t enough. I’ll go curl up and get a little finishing nap. Cheers, my friend. We miss you…

          (((poof)))

  4. machinist says:

    Happy New Year my gentle friend. I hope you are doing well. My best to you and your Dear David.

...thus do we refute entropy.

